What Is The Taxonomy Code 1


What's a taxonomy code?

A taxonomy code is a unique 10-character code that designates your classification and specialization. You will use this code when applying for a National Provider Identifier, commonly referred to as an NPI. As a provider, do I need to know my taxonomy code? Yes, if you want to become a Medicare provider. via

How do I find my taxonomy code?

  • Visit the NPPES NPI Registry.
  • Enter your NPI Number into the field.
  • Click Search.
  • via

    Why do I need a taxonomy code?

    Taxonomy codes are administrative codes set for identifying the provider type and area of specialization for health care providers. Each taxonomy code is a unique ten character alphanumeric code that enables providers to identify their specialty at the claim level. via

    Do you have to apply for a taxonomy code?

    You do not need to apply for a Health Care Provider Taxonomy code. Rather, taxonomy codes are self-selected by the provider. via

    What is taxonomy code for primary care physician?

    Taxonomy Code 363LP2300X > Primary Care. via

    What is a NUCC taxonomy code?

    The Health Care Provider Taxonomy code is a unique alphanumeric code, ten characters in length. The code set is structured into three distinct "Levels" including Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) is presently maintaining the code set. via

    How do I change my taxonomy code?

  • Select Add Taxonomy.
  • Once you have selected the desired Taxonomy code, it will allow you to input an associated license and state of issue, if applicable.
  • Select Save to store the new information and return to a list of all Taxonomy and licenses currently on the record.
  • via

    What is a provider type code?

    Provider types include individuals, facilities, and vendors. The provider's specialty is a value indicating what field of medicine a provider has additional education in to make him/her a specialist in a certain field. NOTE: Provider type codes may not be unique to one provider type. via

    What is a specialty code?

    --Specialty codes are self-designated and describe the kind of medicine physicians, non-physician practitioners or other healthcare providers/suppliers practice. A physician, non-physician practitioner or other healthcare provider or supplier will submit a specialty code change via the Form CMS-855 application. via

    How many taxonomy codes can a provider have?

    A practitioner can have more than one taxonomy code, due to training, board certifications. etc. It is critical to register all applicable taxonomy codes with NPPES and to use the correct taxonomy code that represents the specific specialty when filing claims. via

    What is the taxonomy code for mental health?

    Taxonomy Code 101YM0800X > Mental Health. via

    Is a taxonomy code a tax ID?

    Every insurance carrier requires the same clinician information for each claim: a name, a taxonomy code, a National Provider Identifier, and a Tax Identification number. via

    What is a taxonomy code for dental?

    Taxonomy Code 122300000X > Dentist. via

    What is the taxonomy code for chiropractic?

    Taxonomy Code 111N00000X > Chiropractor. via

    What is the taxonomy code for family practice?

    Taxonomy Code 207Q00000X > Family Medicine. via

    Leave a Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *